LEBANESE AMERICAN UNIVERSITY



FACULTY SENATE CONSTITUTION

Approved by the Board of Trustees, September 6, 7, 2007



Table of Contents

I. Purpose and Functions	3
II. Membership	3
III. Meetings	4
IV. Privilege of Attendance	4
V. Officers	4
VI. Apportionment, Election, Term of Office, and Vacancies	4
VII. Senate Committees	6
VIII. Annual Report	6



LAU FACULTY SENATE CONSTITUTION

I. Purpose and Functions

- 1. There shall be a faculty senate, vested with recommendatory powers, that represents and engages faculty in the governance of the institution.
- 2. The Faculty Senate shall meet regularly for the purpose of considering and making recommendations to the appropriate university bodies on the following important issues:
 - a) Policy matters relating to academic programs, curriculum, methods of instruction, research, admission standards, and any aspects of student life that affects LAU's academic standards.
 - b) Policy matters relating to faculty status, including appointments, reappointments, retention, promotions, tenure, and dismissal.
 - c) The establishment of new and the discontinuation of existing academic programs.
 - d) The establishment, discontinuation, or status change of any academic unit across the University.
 - e) University operating budget, resource allocations, planning faculty compensation, and University calendar.
 - f) All academic standards, requirements, and the granting of degrees, including honorary degrees.
 - g) Amendments to the Faculty Senate constitution when and if needed.

II. Membership

- 1. The voting members of the Faculty Senate shall be the elected regular members of the University Faculty Senate apportioned as specified in Article VI.
- 2. Professors, Associate Professors, and Assistant Professors who have served a minimum of one year at the University are eligible for election to the Faculty Senate. Faculty at the Instructor or Lecturer ranks who have been at LAU for at least three years are eligible for membership through election at the respective campus. Faculty holding academic or university administrative duties that involve supervising the work of other faculty (i.e. VPs, Deans, Chairs), as well as visiting or adjunct faculty, are not eligible for election to the Senate.



III. Meetings

- 1. The Faculty Senate shall hold no fewer than two regular meetings per semester.
- 2. The Bylaws of the Faculty Senate shall regulate the calling for meetings, notices for meetings, election and meeting procedures agenda, quorum, and the distribution and approval of minutes.
- 3. Except as otherwise provided in the LAU Faculty Constitution, the proceedings of the Senate shall be governed by the latest Robert's RULES OF ORDER.

IV. Privilege of Attendance

- 1. President, Vice Presidents and Deans may attend and participate in the meetings of the Faculty Senate.
- 2. Members of the University community may attend designated meetings with the approval of the Faculty Senate Chair.

V. Officers

- 1. Before July 1 of each year, the Senate shall choose by vote, a Chair-Elect and a Secretary for the Faculty Senate. The Chair-Elect shall serve as Vice-Chair for one academic year, and will be the Chair of the Senate in the following year. The Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary will constitute the Executive of the Senate. The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Senate shall be from different campuses, and shall alternate between the two campuses.
- 2. The Chair of the Senate, or in the Chair's absence, the Vice Chair shall preside at all meetings of the Senate and shall exercise such other powers and duties as may be vested in the Chair by the bylaws of the Senate. The Chair shall be an ex-officio member of all Senate committees.
- 3. The Secretary shall keep minutes of the Senate and shall exercise such other powers and duties as provided for in the Senate bylaws. The Secretary shall maintain the Faculty Handbook by making changes after approval by the appropriate bodies and shall inform the University community of the changes that have been made.

VI. Apportionment, Election, Term of Office, and Vacancies

1. The Faculty Senate shall have a fixed size. The number of Senators is thirty-four senators, equally allocated between the Beirut and Byblos campuses.



- 2. Each School of the University shall elect departmental or divisional representatives to the Faculty Senate according to the following rules:
 - a) Two senators are elected per campus from faculty who are at the Instructor or Lecturer rank;
 - b) The remaining thirty senate seats are allocated in proportionality to the number of full-time faculty in each School:
 - c) Senate representation should guarantee, whenever possible, at least one representative from each department or division. If the number of senators is less than the number of allocated departmental/divisional seats, then, and in order to satisfy adequate representation, concerned departments/divisions may combine for the purpose of election with other departments or divisions in the same School;
 - d) A faculty member has the right to vote for all the declared seats at the School level.
- 3. Reapportionments shall be made prior to senatorial elections in order to reflect changes in the number of faculty of each constituent School or by changes in the number or identity of constituent Schools. For the purpose of such reapportionment, the Chair and the Secretary of the Faculty Senate shall refer to the list of eligible faculty members furnished by the VPAA and inform the Dean concerned of the number of senators to be elected that year by that School.
- 4. Senators shall be elected by majority vote of the constituent School while keeping in mind departmental and divisional representation. Ties are broken based on seniority in rank and years of service at LAU.
- 5. Senate elections shall be held in the Spring Semester. The newly elected senators shall take their seats at the first meeting subsequent to the Spring Commencement.
- 6. Senators are elected for a three-year term. The following three-year cycle shall apply to elect senators: twelve in years one and two, and ten every third year.
- 7. The tenure of the Senators not re-elected for a second consecutive term shall end on commencement day after completion of the third year in office. For those Senators re-elected for a second consecutive three-year term, their tenure in office ends on commencement day with completion of their second three-year service on the Faculty Senate. Senators shall not be eligible for a third consecutive term of service on the Faculty Senate. After the lapse of one year, however, they shall be eligible again.



- 8. Faculty senate vacancies, other than those occasioned by leaves of absence from the University, shall be filled for only the unexpired portion of the term.
- 9. Faculty senate vacancies occasioned by leaves of absence from the University shall be filled for only the duration of the absence. Thereafter, the original incumbent, upon return to the University, shall resume membership and complete the three-year term.

VII. Senate Committees

- 1. There shall be a number of Senate standing committees. The number, powers, and types of such committees shall be determined later, and recommended to the University for approval as part of the complete Senate Bylaws.
- 2. Senate standing committees are to be composed of at least two thirds of senators. The remaining members of the Senate standing committees are elected by the Schools based on procedures that will be recommended to the University for approval as part of the modified Faculty Bylaws.
- 3. The Chair of a Senate standing committee must be a senator.

VIII. Annual Report

Each year, the Chair of the Faculty Senate shall submit to all members of the University Faculty a report on the activities of the Faculty Senate for that year.